Shitty First Drafts

giphy

The reading “Shitty First Drafts” was an interesting take on the beginning of the writing process. I have always been someone that has to pay attention to every detail and make sure that the first draft is the best draft, which makes writing a pretty unenjoyable activity for me. Anne Lamott brought up an interesting point by addressing how much time she put into composing a food review—from analyzing the reactions of different people to the food to writing up first drafts two times longer than they were supposed to be and then going back another day and cutting it down. I tend to keep the mentality that some people are born naturally good at writing, but in reality there is a lot of work that goes on behind the scenes. I think that if I stop trying so hard to get the perfect draft the first time around, I will begin to find myself more comfortable with writing and enjoy it more. After reading this “Shitty First Drafts” it has become clear to me that all good writers have to be patient and persistent because they will face tons of writers block and have to overcome it to get a good draft. I definitely struggle with writing up shitty drafts because I don’t struggle to see where writing a shitty draft could lead me to in the process. It is interesting to think that what you could think is horrible writing could lead you to developing something much much better.

Leave a Reply

